How To
How to Edit and Delete a sent message with IOS 17
Apple consistently improves it’s Messaging service (iMessage), with every IOS upadate more improved than the previous version. Apple released a variety of new features in the IOS 16 and IOS 17 of which included the function of allowing users to edit and unsend a sent message. This features has been very beneficial to users especially we that make a lot of typos while typing. This feature is actually very easy, all you need is an iPhone with IOS 16 or IOS 17 and the person you sent the message to also has to have IOS 16 or IOS 17.
Before we dive into the “HOW To” note that you only have a time frame of 15 minute to edit or delete your sent messages. With that out of the way let go into how we can edit and delete a sent message on our iPhone with IOS 17.
How to Edit Your Messages on IOS 17
You might have probably sent a message with a typo and had to send another message to correct the initial one you sent, which is stressful. But if you are anything like me you would have sent a third one to correct the first two you sent. Thanks to apple for this feature on IOS 17, now I can edit my message within the message itself without having to resend new messages.
Here is how it is done,
Step 1: Open iMessage on your Iphone

Step 2: Select an already sent message (remember not more than 15 minutes since you sent it) or if you don’t have a sent message you can send one now to anyone to give it a try.
With that done.
Step 3: When you select and hold the message a pop-up menu will appear.
Step 4: Tap EDIT. You’ll then get the option to write the message again. Make your edits.

Step 5: Tap the blue checkmark beside the message bar. After you tap it “EDITED” will appear underneath the message.
Note: If you edit a message you sent to someone with IOS 15 or older the person will get the edited message as another message.
To Reveal all edited Messages: Tap the word “Edited” under the current message to reveal the previous message or messages.
How to Delete a sent Message on IOS 17
There are times when we would send messages to the wrong person, with this feature on IOS 17 we can deleted the message within 15 minutes of sending.
Step 1: Open the iMessage app on your iPhone.
Step 2: Select a sent message (must be within 15 minutes of sending) or type a new message and send.
Step 3: Select and hold the message then a pop-up menu will appear.
Step 4: Tap “More…” then select the delete icon at the bottom of the screen.

Once you do this the message will be deleted and the person you sent it to will see that the message was deleted. Also do not forget that this feature only works for devices with IOS 17 or IOS 16. If you delete it for anyone with IOS 15 or older it won’t delete on their device.
